Posted in Uncategorized

Things You Cannot Stand

Everybody has something they cannot stand, like Brussel sprouts, a lost present, ect. But as grow older, you become mature and you are able to contain emotions and grow immune to the things you cannot stand. However, there is always one thing you cannot grow immune to, no matter how many times you’ve experienced. In my case, its something called Drums. Now I LOVE DRUMS, don’t get me wrong, but its something related to it. Whenever I play drums, I get into the zone, everything around me has only musical energy and I get submerged in what I am doing. However, then I go and ask someone to listen to how I sound, so I can improve. My father usually comes and hears, about 2/3rd of the time, and when he doesn’t, it’s obvious what the reason is: Work, which is totally understandable. However, my mother, is a completely different story. Though I love her and she helps me with school work, and any academic work, music is a bit different. In my opinion, she doesn’t seem to care about music and isn’t willing to help me improve. Heres a classic example. Today, when I was practicing drums, I was doing a drum solo, a fast one and I needed feedback as there was a competition in the school called GWA’s got talent, with winners. I decide to ask my mom, because she seemed free and was lying on the bed seeing something. I ask her” can you listen to my drums, its short.” She says no. Now I am fine with that, so i went and kept doing drum solos trying to improve, get my hands faster, and give a better sound. Then, she retorted, “Why don’t you go for bath, you don’t seem engaged.” Now that’s what got me a little mad, that I was trying to refine my piece, get my hands faster, and that’s what she replied. In my opinion, she said this because she did not want to come to listen thinking I would ask her again. But, I never show when I am mad, because I don’t like to because I know I will regret it later, so I let it out in Drums, by playing really fast. I was also sad because I mean, when your in the zone, you play Drums from the heart, and someone says something like that, you just get sad.

Disclaimer:: THIS POST IS PURELY BASED ON OPINION. PLEASE DO NOT PUT ANY INAPPROPRIATE COMMENTS IN THE COMMENT BOX, BUT THERE MAY BE CONFLICTING OPINIONS IN THE COMMENT BOX. IF ANYONE HAD BEEN AFFECTED BY THIS POST IN A NEGATIVE WAY, I APOLOGIZE IN ADVANCE.

Author:

Hi there, and welcome to Dhruv Beats. Over here, you can read a collection of stories, ideas, thoughts and opinions. But in the end, browse around, read, and well, enjoy! "A writer is simply a photographer of thoughts" - Brandon A. Trean dhruvss.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Things You Cannot Stand

  1. Ha ha ha!! After sending the arrow from your bow you are telling the target, if it hits you I apologise.

  2. Dhruv, you are bang on with regard to bath moment but then I always listen to your practice from other room. Not that I have choice, it’s so loud that even our neighbors & neighbor’s- neighbor join in too :)) And on feedback-I DON’T agree!! Everyday I say “Good”! at 8 p.m. when you stop playing:)).
    Note: Suresh you stop smiling & Dhruv I love you!!

    1. Druv this is Naina aunty from pune . Madan uncle is here in pune and he showed me your blog . I must say that you write really well . keep up the writing ..

Leave a Reply

